The Rise of the Helicopter Teacher

I’ve posted previously about Helicopter Parents, but this is the first time I’ve heard of Helicopter Teachers! When I read this article by Steven Conn, I must say that the image of a few particular teachers I know came to mind. Do you know any Helicopter Teachers?

TEACHERWISE

The Rise of the Helicopter Teacher

by Steven Conn

A week before the first paper was due, a young woman in my class raised her hand and asked where the rubric was.

Shamefaced and stuttering, I had to admit that I had no idea what a rubric was. She helpfully explained that this was a set of guidelines explaining what I expected them to write, how I expected them to write it, and how each aspect of the paper would be evaluated. A set of boxes that students could check off to guarantee that they had met my expectations. For all intents and purposes, in other words, an outline for the paper.

Oh, I replied. No, I continued, there would be no rubric. And as I saw the crestfallen faces in front of me I realized what these students expected me to be: a helicopter teacher.

We have all seen…

View original post 945 more words

Leave a Reply

